Illinois license holding companies compared (2026)
Illinois license holding companies charge about $75 to $122 a year, and you keep 70% to 85% of each referral fee. On a typical referral, the payout percentage matters more than the annual fee: on a $2,187.50 referral fee, each 5 points of payout is worth about $109. As of October 2026, NextPath combined a low fee with the highest payout.
Every Illinois license holding company does the same basic job: it sponsors your license so it stays active, and it pays you a share of each referral fee. The differences are in the fees and the payout. Here they are side by side, taken from each company’s own website in October 2026.
A note on fairness: we’re one of the companies on this list. We’ve reported every company’s terms the way its own site states them, linked each source below, and we don’t come out cheapest. Terms change, so confirm the current details with any company before you join.
The comparison table
| Company | Annual fee | One-time fee | You keep | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NextPath License Holding | $95 | None listed | 85% | Pays by direct deposit the Friday after payment clears. Refer to any agent in any state. |
| Referral Group of Illinois (EXIT Realty) | $99 | None listed | 85% to EXIT offices, 75% to others | Higher payout inside its own network. |
| CRELHC (Pearson Realty Group) | $90 | Not stated | 80% | Fee charged each October 1. |
| Illinois Real Estate License Holding (Kale Realty) | $109 | $24 | 80% | Refer to any agent. A real person answers about 95% of calls. |
| JRE Referral Network | $99 | Not stated | From 75% | Refer to any licensed broker, including out of state. |
| HRI (Coldwell Banker Real Estate Group) | $75 | $125 onboarding | 75% | Next year’s fee waived after 2 closings in a year. |
| NIREIN (Chicago Association of REALTORS) | $95, prorated by join month | None | 70% | Run by the Chicago Association of REALTORS. NIREIN negotiates the referral fee. |
| RANI | $75 | Not stated | Not stated | Offers free seminars and discounted CE. Founded 1987. |
Every company also requires the state’s $35 sponsorship transfer fee, paid to IDFPR, when you move your license.
The math on a real referral
Percentages are hard to compare in your head, so here’s one example: your client buys a $350,000 home, the agent’s side earns a 2.5% commission ($8,750), and you agree on a 25% referral fee. That makes the referral fee $2,187.50. Here’s what you’d keep in your first year at each company, after its company fees:
| Company | First-year company fees | Your payout | Net, year one |
|---|---|---|---|
| NextPath | $95 | $1,859.38 | $1,764.38 |
| Referral Group of Illinois, to an EXIT office | $99 | $1,859.38 | $1,760.38 |
| CRELHC | $90 | $1,750.00 | $1,660.00 |
| Illinois Real Estate License Holding | $133 | $1,750.00 | $1,617.00 |
| Referral Group of Illinois, to a non-EXIT office | $99 | $1,640.63 | $1,541.63 |
| JRE Referral Network | $99 | $1,640.63 | $1,541.63 |
| HRI | $200 | $1,640.63 | $1,440.63 |
| NIREIN | $95 | $1,531.25 | $1,436.25 |
RANI isn’t included because its site doesn’t state a payout percentage. After year one, one-time fees drop off, so the gaps narrow for companies with setup fees.
The takeaway: the payout percentage usually matters more than the annual fee. On this referral, every 5 points of payout is worth about $109, more than most companies’ entire annual fee. If you expect several referrals, weigh the percentage heavily. If you expect none, the annual fee is all that matters, and going inactive may be cheaper still.
What to weigh beyond price
- How fast you get paid. Only a few companies state a timeline. Ask.
- Who you can refer to. Some pay more inside their own network. Make sure you can send clients to the agent you trust.
- Who negotiates the referral fee. At some companies you set it with the receiving agent. At others, the company negotiates it for you.
- How easy it is to leave. When you’re ready to practice again, you want your license released quickly.
- Whether a real person answers. You’ll only call a few times a year, but it’s usually about money or a deadline.
- How you join. Most are online now. A few still use email packets or paper forms.
How to choose in five minutes
- Expect several referrals a year? Prioritize the highest payout you can get to any agent you choose.
- Expect one or two? Compare the net-in-year-one column above.
- Expect none? Pick the lowest annual fee, or go inactive and keep renewing. See your three options.
Key takeaways
- Illinois holding companies charge about $75 to $122 a year, and you keep 70% to 85% of referral fees.
- Everyone pays the same $35 state transfer fee.
- The payout percentage usually matters more than the annual fee.
- Check payout speed, who you can refer to, and how easy it is to leave.
We sponsor your license so it stays active, and you keep 80% of every referral fee.
Get the free guide: Will I Lose My License?
- What active, inactive and expired really mean
- Your 2028 renewal calendar and CE checklist
- How referral fees work, with real numbers
- Reminders before your April 30, 2028 deadline
Rather talk? Call 312.238.9796 for a free 2-minute license check-up.
You’re in.
Your guide is on its way to your inbox. Can’t wait? Grab it now.
Download the guide (PDF)Will you lose your license?
Get the free 6-page guide and a reminder before your April 30, 2028 renewal. No spam, no sales pitch.
Get the free guideFrequently asked questions
Which Illinois license holding company is the cheapest?
By annual fee, RANI and HRI list $75 a year, though HRI adds a one-time $125 onboarding fee. Counting the payout on a typical referral, NextPath ($95 a year, 85% payout) came out ahead in October 2026.
What percentage of the referral fee do I keep at a holding company?
Between 70% and 85% at the companies we checked: 85% at NextPath and Referral Group of Illinois (for referrals to EXIT offices), 80% at CRELHC and Illinois Real Estate License Holding, 75% at HRI and JRE Referral Network, and 70% at NIREIN.
Do all holding companies charge the same state transfer fee?
Yes. The $35 sponsorship transfer fee goes to IDFPR, not to the holding company, so it’s the same wherever you go. Paying online may add a small convenience fee.
Can I refer clients to any agent?
Most companies say yes, including out-of-state agents. Some pay you more for referring within their own network, so ask before you join.
Is the cheapest holding company the best one?
Not necessarily. Compare the full first-year cost and the payout on a realistic referral, then weigh how quickly they pay you, whether a real person answers the phone, and how easily they release your license when you want to practice again.
Sources
- NextPath License Holding Company (Illinois)
- Referral Group of Illinois
- JRE Referral Network FAQ
- NIREIN FAQs and Agreement (Chicago Association of REALTORS)
- CRELHC (Chicago License Holding) FAQ
- HRI Referrals FAQ
- RANI
- 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1450.130 (state fees, including the $35 sponsorship transfer fee)
This guide is general information, not legal advice. Rules change, so confirm the current requirements with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) before you act.